Student Life

Community Standards

Community Standards Advisor

What is a Community Standards Advisor?

At any time during the Community Standards process, the respondent or complainant may consult with an advisor from the University community. An  advisor is a member of the University community who a student is permitted to  consult with throughout the process, including accompanying the student to  meetings/hearings within the Community Standards process.

An Advisor may take notes, but is not permitted to inspect, read, copy, photograph,  or transcribe any documents or data at any stage of the Community Standards  process. The Advisor is not an advocate for the student and may not ask questions,  interject, coach, or otherwise speak on behalf of a student at any stage of the Community Standards process. The role of an Advisor is to provide a comforting and  familiar presence for a student. The Advisor, however, may consult with the Complainant or Respondent they are advising, but shall have no independent role or rights in the process. The choice whether or not to invite an Advisor is solely that of the student involved. The University may remove or dismiss an Advisor who becomes disruptive or who does not abide by the restrictions on his or her participation. Problems with an Advisor’s schedule will not delay a meeting/hearing. An Advisor cannot serve in a different role during the Community Standards process (e.g., witness).

Non-University advisors, including parents and legal counsel, are not allowed to serve as advisors, inspect hearing records during the Community Standards process, or attend the hearing. The Office of Community Standards has the final determination as to who may serve as an advisor.

Trained Advisors are listed below, and a list of trained Advisors is available in the Office of Community Standards (Campion 239).  A complainant or respondent may choose one of these Trained Advisors to serve as her/his advisor, or may select any other person from inside the University community to serve as the Advisor.

NOTE: Refer to the Interim Policy Regarding Sexual Assault, Sexual Exploitation, Domestic Violence, Dating Violence, or Stalking for Student Respondents, which includes the disciplinary process for alleged violations of this policy.



Trained Community Standards Advisors:

Jessica Moran Buckridge

Residence Life

LaFarge

(610) 660-1064

jmoran@sju.edu

Kelly Bersett

Residence Life

LaFarge

(610)660-1061

kbersett@sju.edu

Sarah Jones

Residence Life

LaFarge

(610) 660-1941

sjones03@sju.edu

Peter Dunne

Residence Life

LaFarge

(610) 660-1012

pdunne@sju.edu

Sarah Smith

Residence Life

Merion Gardens

(610) 747-4153

ssmith01@sju.edu

Jessica Brown

Residence Life

LaFarge

(610) 660-1463

jbrown1@sju.edu

Ashley Archer

Residence Life

Sourin

(610) 660-2567

aarcher@sju.edu

Shawn Washart

Residence Life

McShain

(610) 660-1388

swashart@sju.edu

Louis Gardiner

Residence Life

Lannon

(610) 660-1480

lgardine@sju.edu

Kelly Horning

Center for International Programs

183 W. City Ave

(610) 660-1835

khorning@sju.edu

 

Office of Community Standards Staff:

William S. Bordak Director of Community Standards Campion 239 (610) 660-1046 wbordak@sju.edu

Laura Egan

Community Standards/
Off Campus Student Life

Campion 239

(610) 660-1046

legan01@sju.edu