Student Life

Community Standards

Community Standards Advisor
What is a Community Standards Advisor?

At any time during the Community Standards process, the respondent or complainant may consult with an advisor from the University community. An advisor is a member of the University community who a student is permitted to consult with throughout the process, including accompanying the student to meetings/hearings within the Community Standards process.

The choice whether or not to invite an advisor is solely that of the respondent or complainant involved. 

An advisor serves to guide the individual through the disciplinary process. At any stage of the disciplinary process, the individual may seek advice from the advisor, and the advisor may give advice to the individual whom he/she is assisting. However, the advisor may not speak for that individual or otherwise direct questions to or address others present in any disciplinary process meeting (e.g., the opposing party, witnesses, and/or the person conducting the meeting (university official).  An advisor cannot serve in a different role during the disciplinary process (e.g., witness). 

The University may remove or dismiss an advisor who becomes disruptive or who does not abide by the restrictions on her/his participation, as determined by the person conducting the meeting (university official). 

An advisor may take notes, but is not permitted to inspect, read, copy, photograph, or transcribe any documents or data at any stage of the disciplinary process. While an advisor’s schedule is not determinative, reasonable efforts will be made to accommodate him or her.  Problems with an advisor’s schedule will not delay a meeting.

Non-University advisors, including parents and legal counsel, are not allowed to serve as advisors, inspect hearing records during the Community Standards process, or attend the hearing. The Office of Community Standards has the final determination as to who may serve as an advisor.

Trained Advisors are listed below. A complainant or respondent may choose one of these Trained Advisors to serve as her/his advisor, or may select any other person from inside the University community to serve as the Advisor.

Trained Community Standards Advisors:

Jessica Moran Buckridge Residence Life LaFarge (610) 660-1064 jmoran@sju.edu
Kelly Bersett Residence Life LaFarge (610)660-1061 kbersett@sju.edu
Peter Dunne Residence Life LaFarge (610) 660-1012 pdunne@sju.edu 
Sarah Smith Residence Life LaFarge (610) 660-1463 ssmith01@sju.edu
Ashley Archer Residence Life Sourin (610) 660-2567 aarcher@sju.edu 
Jessica Brown Residence Life Villiger (610) 747-4795 jbrown1@sju.edu 
Louis Gardiner Residence Life Merion Gardens (610) 747-4153 lgardine@sju.edu 
Shawn Washart Residence Life McShain (610) 660-1388 swashart@sju.edu 


Office of Community Standards Staff:

William S. Bordak Director of Community Standards Campion 239 (610) 660-1046 wbordak@sju.edu

 

NOTE: The information included on this webpage does not replace information published within the Student Handbook. For more complete information, please reference the Student Handbook. Please refer to the Sexual Misconduct Policy, which includes the disciplinary process for alleged violations of this policy.